landscape in Syria UC Davis

Human Rights Designated Emphasis

Mission of the Designated Emphasis

The DE in Human Rights provides graduate students in affiliated programs the opportunity to supplement their Ph.D. with a specialization in the academic study of Human Rights. The mission of the DE is to promote and build capacity in the academic study of Human Rights and the training of graduate students in the field of Human Rights in the Ph.D. programs throughout the campus.

Affiliated Ph.D. Programs

Students in the following Ph.D. programs are eligible to pursue a Designated Emphasis in Human Rights:

  • Anthropology
  • Cultural Studies
  • English
  • German
  • History
  • Native American Studies
  • Spanish
  • Sociology
  • ​Study of Religion
  • ​Performance Studies

Affiliated Faculty

ANTHROPOLOGY

Marisol de la Cadena - https://anthropology.ucdavis.edu/people/mdelac
Jeff Kahn - https://anthropology.ucdavis.edu/people/jskahn
Suzana Sawyer - https://anthropology.ucdavis.edu/people/smsawyer 
Cristiana Giordano - https://anthropology.ucdavis.edu/people/cgiordan 

ART HISTORY

Heghnar Z. Watenpaugh - https://arts.ucdavis.edu/faculty-profile/heghnar-watenpaugh

ENGLISH

Desirée Martin - https://english.ucdavis.edu/people/dmartin

GERMAN

Elisabeth Krimmer - https://www.elisabethkrimmer.com/

Chunjie Zhang - https://german.ucdavis.edu/people/chunjie-zhang

Sven-Erik Rose - https://german.ucdavis.edu/people/sven-erik-rose

Jaimey Fisher - https://german.ucdavis.edu/people/jaimey-fisher

HISTORY

Corrine Decker - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/crdecker

Susan Miller-Emeritus - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/sgmiller

Charles Walker - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/cfwalker

Adam Zientek - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/azientek

Stacy Fahrenthold - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/sfahren

Marian E. Schlotterbeck - https://history.ucdavis.edu/people/mschlott

PROGRAM IN HUMAN RIGHTS STUDIES

Keith David Watenpaugh - https://human-rights.ucdavis.edu/people/keith-watenpaugh

NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES

Stefano Varese- Emeritus - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/stefano-varese

Jessica Perea - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/jessica-perea-denaina

Ines Hernandez-Avila - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/ines-hernandez-avila-nez-percetejana

Liza Grandia - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/liza-grandia

Zoila Mendoza - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/zolia-mendoza

Elisabeth Middleton - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/beth-middleton

Justin Spence - https://nas.ucdavis.edu/people/justin-spence

RELIGIOUS STUDIES

W. Flagg Miller - https://religionsgrad.ucdavis.edu/people/flagg-miller

SOCIOLOGY

Diane Wolf - https://sociology.ucdavis.edu/people/dlwolf

David Kyle https://sociology.ucdavis.edu/people/djkyle

Caitlin Patler - https://sociology.ucdavis.edu/people/patler

SPANISH

Emilio Bejel - https://spanish.ucdavis.edu/people/emilio-bejel

Cristina Martinez-Carazo  - https://spanish.ucdavis.edu/people/cristina-martinez-carazo

Michael Lazzara https://spanish.ucdavis.edu/people/michael-lazzara

Course Requirements

All four course requirements must be completed prior to the Qualifying Exam:

  • HMR 200A. History, Theory and Criticism of Human Rights. (cross-listed with Study of Religion course REL 231E)
  • HMR 200B. Memory, Culture, and Human Rights. (cross-listed with Cultural Studies course CST 210)
  • One course or course of study in the student’s home graduate department or group, relevant to the study of Human Rights or in which the student may conduct significant research on a topic relevant to the study of Human Rights. This course or course of study shall be identified in advance and in consultation with the student’s Human Rights DE advisor.
  • One reading or independent study course (such as HMR 299) with a faculty member of the Human Rights Designated Emphasis Group

 

2021-2022 Graduate Courses

Winter 2022

HMR 200A- Keith Watenpaugh
Wednesdays, 1:10-4:00

 

Dissertation & Examination Requirements

The dissertation research topic must employ in whole or in part the academic study of Human Rights.  The Qualifying Exam Committee must include a faculty member of the DE in Human Rights and the exam must include a question relevant to the DE.  A faculty member of the DE must also sit on the Dissertation Committee. Typically the same DE representative will be on both committees, but this is not a requirement.


Paperwork Requirements

For assistance obtaining signatures on your paperwork, please contact the DE Staff, housed in the Department of Languages & Literatures: Maria Ruby, 210 Sproul, mruby@ucdavis.edu. The following forms are required for the DE: